Dr Zweli Lawrence Mkhize

 Current Position:  Minister of CoGTA
  •  Dr Zweli Lawrence Mkhize is a medical doctor, legislator and politician. He was born in Willowfontein, Pietermaritzburg on the 02nd of February in 1956. He graduated with an MBChB degree from the   University of Natal (now University of KwaZulu-Natal) in 1982. In 1983, Mkhize did his internship at McCords Hospital in Durban before being employed at Edendale Hospital in his hometown,   Pietermaritzburg.
  •  Dr Mkhize has played a pivotal role in the process leading towards the establishment of a democratic government. In 1986, he went into exile and continued with his medical practice in Swaziland   and  Zimbabwe. He returned to South Africa in 1991 to work at Themba Hospital in the Eastern Transvaal. Later the same year, he started his private practice in Pietermaritzburg.
  •  Between 1991 and 1994, Mkhize served as a member of the ANC’s National Health Secretariat, the structure that was tasked with the responsibility of developing the country’s health policy. Dr Mkhize   co-founded the Regional Health Forum and became a member of the Nationa​l Health Forum.
  •  Comrade Zweli Mkhize served as the provincial chairperson of the ANC in KwaZulu-Natal from 2008, a position he was re-elected into in 2012. He played a pivotal role in the successful hosting of the   2010 World Cup Soccer tournament as the Chairperson of the 2010 World Cup Political Oversight Committee between 2006 and 2010. His previous appointments include MEC for Finance and Economic   Development from 2004 to 2009. Mkhize also held the position of Chairperson of the ANC’s National Education and Health Sub-Committee and was leader of Government Business in KwaZulu-Natal   between 2004 and 2009. He served as MEC for Health in KwaZulu-Natal from 1994 to 2004. He served as Premier of the KwaZulu-Natal Province from 2009 to 2013.
  •  Dr Zweli Mkhize has been Chancellor of the University of KwaZulu-Natal since 2009. At the ANC’s 53rd National Conference in Mangaung, December 2012, he was elected as the Treasurer General of the   African National Congress, a position he held until December 2017.